Ok, I promised that I would start a blog today in class at the train station branch.  Sometimes we have unanswered questions after class.  I want to answer these questions.  Sometimes we don’t finish the article, and sometimes I have some important information that I don’t think of until after the class! 😀  So, I write this blog when I have time, and try to give some useful information about my class.  I will also try to post some other interesting stories, and ESL exercises on my blog for you to try!  Hope you enjoy, so here goes!

I remember one question from today’s class:  What is an eye doctor called?  I remember telling you that an optometrist helps you find the right prescription of glasses.  An Ophthalmologist (click on the word to hear my pronunciation) is an eye doctor.  Ophthalmology is the study of ocular medicine.  Ocular is an adjective to describe something that relates to the eye.  For example ocular cavity, ocular surgery, ocular rash, etc.  Octology sounded like the right word for science of the eyes, but it really means a series of 8 books (rare), similar to the word trilogy (being three books in a series).  Anyway, he was kind and gentle with me, and reminded me to always wash my hands alot!

BTW if you have any questions about something you read here you can make a comment at the bottom and I will try to answer your questions.

Sincerely,

Teacher Joe!

