On saturday we had a great discussion about music.  I told the class about my musical hobbies.  Right now I am learning how to identify the key of songs.  This can help when you are playing music for a crowd.  As I explained to the class, when one songs ends and the next begins, you want the transition to sound smooth.  Some keys will go nicely together and others can’t be mixed together at all.  I believe it has a lot to do with the emotion of the song.  The emotion of the song is often determined by the key of the song as well.  So when you are DJing music, it is important for your songs to follow a natural emotional progression.  The people listening will feel that it sounds more natural.  The following website will show you one person’s opinion about which emotions each musical key can represent.  This list can also teach you some new emotion vocabulary!

http://www.gradfree.com/kevin/some_theory_on_musical_keys.htm

