Have you ever wanted to find a word in the dictionary but you…. surprisingly… can’t find the right word? Have you ever thought: “Gee it would be nice to be able to find a word by the definition”? I have some good news that can hopefully easy some of that painful feeling you get when you want to remember the perfect word for the situation. It’s called a reverse dictionary. Here’s how it works:

1) You type in words that might be in the definition of the word. For example, try making a question you would typically ask to your teacher. Like this: “Is there a word for someone who is afraid of technology”?

2) Then you can isolate the “key” words from that sentence (in this case, “technology” and “afraid”) and put them into the reverse dictionary. Here are the results of searching one reverse dictionary for these terms.

3) Look through the results to find the word you were looking for, or to find a new better word. You can also try to rearange the order of your search words. This can help sometimes. If you click on the link in the last paragraph, you can find the suggested words for “afraid” and “technology”. You can see the first on the list is “technophobia”. That’s the word I was looking for, however you can also see that the third suggestion is “cyberphobia”. Oh great.. that’s my new favorite word! I can click on the word to see how many online dictionaries have this word, then I can choose a dictionary to give me the definition. I like Dictionary.com because it gives me related words at the bottom, very clearly. Here is the definition for my new favorite word!

Here is a link to the best reverse dictionary in my opinion, however do an internet search for reverse dictionary yourself to see if you can find a better one!
http://www.onelook.com/

