I have been looking around Taiwan for some organic and natural foods in order to help regain some of my old health and vitality, and also to try and regain nutritional aspects of my “western diet” that have fallen by the wayside during my move to Taiwan. I have located a couple stores around the city where organic and natural foodstuffs can be found.

I also wanted to share some advice on buying organic foods. Most people remark that organic and natural foods are “more expensive” and “maybe fake anyway” and don’t know much else. I assure you that when you eat organic, whole, and natural foods you can truly taste and feel the difference. For example, organic produce is usually more vibrant tasting. The same is true of natural products like peanut-butter, breads and juices. It’s something I recommend that you try, and then make a decision about whether or not it’s worth it.

So here is the problem and solution I want to present to you. If you don’t know where to start, here is a good piece of knowledge: some conventional supermarket foods are far worse than others. Usually foods that are particularly susceptible and tasty to insects require a heavier dose of pesticides. Also, foods with a thinner skin or peel rank higher on the toxic pesticide list because the chemicals are more easily absorbed through the skin of the organism.

Conversely, fruits and vegetables with a thicker tougher skin or peel tend to resist the pesticide absorption and require less pesticide to begin with because they can fend off more bugs. Meat and milk have high levels of un-natural hormones because animals are fed them to increase production and weight.

Here is a list of best and words foods for toxic chemical pesticides and hormones based on my internet research. Many sites confirm the same results. My advise is to replace some of the worst foods with organically grown produce.

FOODS THAT HAVE LOTS OF CHEMICALS

meat, milk products, apples, peaches, carrots, potatoes, pears, strawberries, tomatoes, grapes, peanut-butter, all other heavily processed foods.

FOODS THAT ARE MORE “OK”

avocado, oranges, bananas, broccoli, kiwi, mango, onions, pineapple, papaya, corn

Here are some sites I used in my research:

http://www.living-foods.com/articles/twelvelist.html
http://www.thedailygreen.com/healthy-eating/eat-safe/Dirty-Dozen-Foods http://www.care2.com/greenliving/the-top-10-foods-to-eat-organically.html

